RSS

Reflections: Why is it Called. . .

02 Apr

photo courtesy of news.bbc.co.uk/2/low/in_pictures/6536905.stm

The Wikipedia defines it as a Catholic tradition – the period of the liturgical year leading up to Easter. Its traditional purpose is the preparation of the believer —through prayer, penitence, almsgiving and self-denial — for the annual commemoration during Holy Week of the Death and Resurrection of Jesus, which recalls the events linked to the Passion of Christ and culminates in Easter, the celebration of the Resurrection of Jesus Christ.

The Evangelical Lutheran Church in America says that Lent is a 40-day liturgical season that begins on Ash Wednesday and concludes at the Great Vigil  of Easter.

Another view of what Lent means is explained in REFLECTIONS, “it is a time of soul-searching and repentance in preparation for the celebration of Christ’s death and resurrection on Good Friday and Easter.”

Functionally, LENT is the simple past tense form and past participle of lend.  And  semantically,  it means “to allow to be used by someone temporarily, on condition that it or its equivalent will be returned”.  My side of the coin is taken from this point.  This is the time I asked myself what have I returned as a payment for the sacrifices He made for me?

I have been lately confronted with so many difficulties. This is one moment in my life that seems to be a dead end.  For the past Holy Week, I’ve been in a struggle. I’ve been looking for signs. Bitterness has silently crept into my being and it leaves me wallowed in pain. Good thing, my sanity is still intact. And every pain, like happiness is temporarily LENT.  God never leaves  in my most trying times instead I am able to share with family members my realization: “In the lowest moment of my life, it is not right to blame God because if I do, I should have blamed Him when am I happy.”

This to the very least hopes that what I have LENT be paid.  It isn’t supposed to be celebrated in one week, after all my life is LENT in this lifetime.  Everything I enjoy in this lifetime is just but LENT temporarily.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 2, 2010 in Insights

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
